It is not just speeding that can get you ticketed. Under a new Florida Transportation Bill, HB 7125, which goes into effect July 1, 2013, it is illegal for drivers in Florida to drive 10 mph slower than the posted speed limit, on all roadways with 2 or more lanes going in the same direction, and fail to get over for faster vehicles approaching from the rear. If you do, you can be ticketed with a $60 fine and receive a 3 point moving violation penalty against your license. However, this law will not apply to drivers in the left lane preparing to turn left at an intersection.
This law is in addition to the 50 mph minimum speed on all national highways when the posted speed limit is 70 mph requirement, which the Highway Patrol also tickets as a moving violation.
The purpose of this law is safety. It is believed that it will help reduce traffic congestion and dangers caused by an angry driver stuck behind a slow driver that does not move over, such as road rage, tailgating, rear-end collisions, and weaving in and out of road lanes.