On May 2, 2013, the Florida Legislature finally passed a bill, SB 52, making it illegal to text and drive in Florida. The bill awaits Gov. Scott’s signature and if signed, Florida will become the 40th state to have a texting while driving ban. However, the bill only makes texting while driving a secondary offense, meaning a driver can only be stopped by the police for another offense not texting. This is similar to how seat belt laws transpired in Florida. A first violation is a $30 fine plus court costs, a subsequent violation within 5 years is a $60 fine plus court costs and 3 points on your driver’s license.
Fla. lawmakers pass texting-while-driving ban
Florida ban on texting while driving goes to governor