But it happens, and it’s dangerous. It can be the result of a driver getting stuck behind a driver who’s going too slow, and that’s one reason given by an FHP spokesman for the new law, subsection 318.083(3), Florida’s Statutes, that took effect July 1, 2013. It is now a moving violation for drivers in Florida to go more than 10 mph slower than the posted speed limit on all roadways with 2 or more lanes going in the same direction and to fail to move over for faster vehicles approaching from the rear. Drivers who violate the new law can be ticketed with a $60 fine and receive a 3 point penalty against their license. This law does not apply to drivers in the left lane preparing to turn left at an intersection.
This new law is in addition to the 50 mph minimum speed on all national highways when the posted speed limit is 70 mph requirement. The FHP also tickets violations of that law as a moving violation.
The purpose of this law is safety. It is believed that it will help reduce traffic congestion and dangers caused when a driver gets stuck behind a slow driver that does not move over. This can result in road rage and confrontations, tailgating, rear-end collisions and weaving in and out of traffic lanes.
Florida Department of Highway Safety: Signs of Road Rage and How to Avoid It
Road Rage is the Wrong Way
DMV: Road Rage in Florida Kills
A Statistical Look into Road Rage