It is a start to must needed legislation in Florida. It took 5 attempts, but Florida is the 40th state to enact a ban against the use of wireless communication devices to manually type or read while driving. It applies to ALL drivers, importantly not just teenagers. On May 28, 2013, Memorial Day, Governor Scott signed SB 52 into law, effective October 1, 2013. However, it is only a secondary offense, the first violation carrying a $30 fine plus court costs. A secondary offense means that a police officer can’t stop and ticket you for it alone, you must be first stopped for committing a primary offense. This is how seatbelt laws started in Florida. A subsequent violation within 5 years results in a $60 fine and court costs. This law also allows police to use drivers’ phone records against them when texting causes a crash resulting in death or personal injury.
According to a preliminary report from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, in Florida, in 2012, there were 256,443 reported crashes. 4,841 of those reported crashes involved a driver that had been texting or otherwise using an “electronic communication device” while driving.
For more information and a video of the Governor signing the bill:
Governor Scott Signs Bill Banning Texting While Driving
Governor Signs Bill Banning Texting While Driving
Scott signs texting-while-driving ban